Congressional Members SideStep Issue


I sent an email to Representative Ribble concerning the
Feinstein weapons ban inquiring how he will vote. Here is the side-stepping
reply.  It is like Senator Ron Johnson’s answer – talking about sports shooting and hunting, which is not in the Second
Amendment. He sidesteps the issue of the right for lawful citizens to keep and bear arms for defense. Hunting
and target shooting is a given. Here is his response to my question, which just
initiated other questions, like: Does Rep. Ribble actually know what the Second
Amendment means? Does he know anything about constitutional articles and
amendments overall? He contends that he will vote for only part of the bill.
That is not how it works. Compromise on issues is one thing but when it comes
to the Constitution and amendments – there is NO COMPROMISE.

Here is his response to me:

Thank you for contacting me with your concerns about gun control efforts in light of the tragedy that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.
I was horrified and saddened by the mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School.  I have 2 grandchildren the same age as many of the victims and, like millions of
Americans, as I watched the events unfold I continued to reflect on my own family.  My thoughts and prayers continue to go out to all the victims and
their families, and I decry this senseless attack on innocent lives.  I pray that the victims and their families will recover from these tragedies and that other American families will not be forced to face the same heartbreak in the future. 
The tragedy in Newtown brought the issue of mass violence in America front and center and prompted the start of an important national dialogue about how to prevent these
horrific acts from occurring. Unfortunately, this is not a simple issue to address- if that were the case our country wouldn’t be at this crossroad.
However, it’s important that the focus remains on keeping firearms out of the hands of dangerous citizens, not all citizens, and I do not believe that a kneejerk reaction to this tragedy is likely to yield the correct remedy. In our congressional district, hunting, shooting sporting clays, and target shooting are all common and  popular sports enjoyed by responsible gun owners who place a strong emphasis on safety. I believe that we can and should protect the rights of law-abiding Americans while also preventing the loss of innocent lives.
Reading through the President’s proposal, I found some areas where we can work to find agreement. It was encouraging to see improved mental health services as a key part of the plan. I also support working with states to improve the background check process in an effort to keep guns out of the hands of the mentally ill and those who are prone to violence. The only single common denominator in all mass killings is a deranged killer and focusing efforts on mental illness offers our best opportunity to end this senseless violence.  I am thankful you made your voice heard, and I hope that you continue to do so.  I will keep your concerns in mind as Congress continues to debate this issue.
Our nation and its government are stronger when citizens are willing to engage with one another on the important issues.
Sincerely, Reid J. Ribble Member of Congress
Both Senator Johnson and Rep. Ribble of Wisconsin do not have the “best interests” of its citizens when they do not take a clear stand
in protecting the Constitution, which their oath of office demands.Being “thankful you made your voice heard” does not equate to LISTENING Senator Johnson and Rep. Ribble.
